Tags

, , , ,

In celebration of the new adaptation of this classic novel, starring Daniel Radcliffe, I have decided that nothing could be more appropriate for my inaugural post.

This image embodies the Woman in Black for me, as played by Pauline Moran 1989

This image embodies the Woman in Black for me, as played by Pauline Moran. The Woman in Black, 1989

It doesn’t seem quite right to be writing a blog entry on The Woman in Black when I have never seen the stage play. And so this, my inaugural post, shall (eventually) be a four parter.

Part I – TV film

Part II – The Book

Part III – The cinema film (once I’ve seen it, within a week or so)

Part IV – On the stage play (once I’ve seen it – within a year…or so)

The Woman in Black is heralded as the embodiment of the modern ghost story. First published in 1983, though set in the 1920s, Susan Hill’s novel is held in high esteem and lauded as a modern classic. It has also been adapted as a highly successful stage play which has been terrifying theatre -goers in London for more than quarter of a century.

Though I have never seen the stage play, it was in this form that I first became aware of this work. People speak of the play in hushed tones of awe, eager to insist that here is a production of genuine, unsettling terror.

This got me intrigued – though as an impoverished student living far from the bright lights of London – I had no funds with which to toddle off to and see the play.

Imagine my delight when I discovered that The Woman in Black had also been produced as a TV film, which also came highly recommended. It took a bit of patience and ingenuity to hunt out a copy but finally I sat down to watch my prize, with high expectations.

I had been promised genuine terror. Heart stopping tension. Blood chilling suspense.

I’m pleased to report that I was not disappointed. The TV film was my very first exposure to The Woman in Black and it is also where I shall begin.

